CPASS Foundation presents a fireside chat with Dr. Michael Eric Dyson

A fireside chat and live Q&A moderated by Dr. Michael Eric Dyson focusing on the lack of representation of Black males in medical schools.

Event Details:

Dr. Eric E. Whitaker, CPASS Foundation Board Chair and CEO and Founder of Zing Health will welcome you to this spectacular evening and introduce you to the CPASS Foundation. Dr. Whitaker will discuss the Foundation’s commitment to the access and success of underrepresented students interested in STEM and STEAM fields. Then Dr. Whitaker will introduce Dr. Michael Eric Dyson who will lead a vibrant discussion around the state of Black men in medical school and health careers.

About Dr. Michael Eric Dyson

Michael Eric Dyson is one of the nation’s most renowned professors, gifted writers, inspiring preachers, knowledgeable lecturers and riveting media personalities. As  a professor who earned a PhD in Religion from Princeton University, Dyson has taught at some of the nation’s most distinguished universities, including Brown, UNC Chapel Hill, Columbia, DePaul, the University of Pennsylvania, and Georgetown University. He is currently the Distinguished University Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies, College of Arts & Sciences, and Centennial Professor at Vanderbilt University.

As a writer of more than 20 books, New York Times bestsellers The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America; and, Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America, that was called by the New York Times,” one of the most frank and searing discussions on race…a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin’s The Fire Next Time and King’s Why We Can’t Wait.” His latest book, “Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America” published December 2020 was heralded as Amazon’s Bestselling Book for 2020.

Panelist for the evening are:

– Eric E. Whitaker, MD, MPH, CEO and Founder of Zing Health

– Terry Mason, MD, FACS, Healthcare Thought Leader, Founder of trevention for life, and Host of “Dr. In The House” Radio Show on WVON 1690AM

– William A. McDade, MD, Ph.D., Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

– Derek J. Robinson, MD, MBA, FACEP, CHCQM, Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois


Dates:

April 20, 2021

7:00pm – 9:00pm CST


Sign-Up Now
Be the first to know about new programs and events.

The Conversation_